On the site of a gothic palace, the Palacio del Marqués de Dos Aguas on Poeta Querol was designed in 1740 by Ignacio Vergara. The main features are the male figures to represent the Doa Aguas, the two main irrigation channels to Valencia city, and after the original owner, the Marqués de Dos Aguas, the wealthy merchant nobility family who occupied the palace. The baroque alabaster facade has been added to and cared for since the orginal design was created, and the building was declared a historical monument in 1941. In 1954, the Museo Nacional de Cerámica y de las Artes Suntuarias González Martí, the ceramic museum. The building is must-see for anyone in Valencia.
Historical photos from Juan Antonio Soler Aces and current photos by Caroline Angus Baker